City Commissions

Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission meets as needed to review applications for police officers and police chief. This group interviews the applicants and then makes a recommendation to the City Administrator for hiring. Members are appointed to six-year terms by the Mayor with Council approval.

  • Karen Stute, 2022*
  • Ken Eigenberg, 2022*
  • Tom Rust, 2019*
  • Ron Haflich, 2021*
  • John Thorburn, 2022*

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission receives and acts upon applications for rezoning and conditional uses. The group is responsible for making and adopting plans for the development of the municipality. Meetings are held the second Thursday of each month at 7:30 PM in the Council Chambers, 502 East Avenue. The Commission consists of nine members, of which two may be residents of the area over which the Municipality is authorized to exercise extraterritorial zoning and subdivision regulations. Members are appointed to three-year terms by the Mayor with Council approval. One member is also a member of the Board of Adjustment. Open meeting laws govern this group.

  • Brad Perry, Chairman, 2019*
  • Marc Lamon, Secretary, 2020*
  • Donn Black, 2021*
  • Scott Vosburg, 2021*
  • Corey Young, 2019*
  • Darrel Kroll, 2019*
  • Corey Wiese, 2020*
  • Emily Anderson, 2021*
  • Glen Thulin, 2020*

Council Planning Commission Liaison

A City Council member serves as a liaison between the Planning Commission and the Council. This person attends planning commission meetings and serves a one year term and is appointed by the Mayor with Council approval.

  • Doug Simpson, 2017*

Police Chaplains

Chaplains are volunteers; see the Police Chief for information on volunteering.

  • Pastor Tom Thompson
  • Pastor Darren Popple
  • Pastor Kirwan Stewart
  • Father Tom Lux

Citizen Advisory Review Committee (Watchdog)

Three-year term appointed by the Mayor with Council approval.

  • Diana Watson, 2021*
  • Grant Ericksen, 2021*
  • Lisa Havens, 2019*
  • Luke Thorell, 2019*
  • Rochelle Jurgens, 2019*
  • Lenore Kayton, 2020*
  • Michaela Nielsen, 2020*
  • Dane Jensen – ex-officio City Official

* Term Ending